Thanksgiving

I did not grow up celebrating Thanksgiving, but after moving to the US I decided to embrace this wonderful tradition of eating Christmas dinner a month early.
I enjoy Thanksgiving – my kids bring home handprint turkeys and autumn leaf art which I hang around my kitchen. The trees don’t do a very good job of changing color where I live now, so the kid artwork fills in.
I like the excitement of Christmas being right around the corner, without feeling any of the stress of the holidays (yet).
I’ve had a few quiet Thanksgivings at home with just the spouse and offspring, but most years we get together with our adopted family – the group of friends who are, like us, far from their actual families.
We eat, we drink, we play with the kiddos – it’s fantastic – and it’s what I am most thankful for.

Leave a Reply

