Different book reviews

This morning I read a book review written by someone I follow on Twitter. I usually look at book reviews to help me make decisions on what to read next, to help me get a feel for some new books I’ve been hearing things about but haven’t had the chance to pick up and look at myself. The review I read this morning was for a book I have already read, and have written a review of myself. I just wanted to see this person’s take on the book.

The review was rather negative, which is fair enough. We don’t all like the same things. But a lot of the comments made me feel like this particular blogger/reviewer had missed a lot of what was going on in the story and I wondered if they had simply skimmed through too fast, not letting each scene settle in their mind, not thinking about any of it afterward to see the small connections and underlying themes, the intricacies.

So I went looking for another review – and I found one where the reader had enjoyed the book and written many positive things. This reviewer liked some of the things that the first reviewer had not liked, but still their opinion was different from my own.

It was fun reading the two different points of view on the same subject.

Fascinating to see how two people took such different things from the same story.

Leave a Reply

