What the kids are reading this December

When all three of my minions are reading something they like, I am a very happy mum!

We spent Thanksgiving in the mountains in New Mexico and on our shopping day in town my son picked out the latest installment of the Wimpy Kid series – Hard Luck – as his treat 🙂 He spent most of the car ride home with his nose in the book, and having finished it in record time he had decided to revisit the other Wimpy Kid stories on his shelf.

My oldest daughter, having whizzed through the book she got from the school library and not having anything else immediately available, begged for something from my book shelf. She wasn’t keen on ‘Divergent’ (she doesn’t want anything to take away her love for the Hunger Games series) so I suggested ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak and she loves it so much she wants her own copy.

My youngest has been obsessing over all the fairy books * written by Daisy Meadows. She is currently almost finished with ‘Victoria the Violin Fairy’ – she even dressed up as the main character for her school’s literary day.
I hope she loves the box full of rainbow fairy books I have waiting to put under the Christmas tree!

 

*Additional info and thoughts on the fairy books my 7yo loves: I recently read an article (which I have been unable to find again!)  online concerning the Rainbow Fairies books. Basically, these books are not written by a single author but a group of writers who brainstorm and create the stories together. The article was slightly scathing, taking a ‘these are not real books’ view of the whole thing and many comments agreed with that stance. Sure I’m bummed that ‘Daisy Meadows’ is not a real person, because *giggle* imagine having that name, but in my opinion the books are friendly and fun and they promote reading – why would anyone knock that?

Leave a Reply

