International Children’s Book Day

Waking up over a cup of tea and a browse through Twitter it came to my attention that today is International Children’s Book Day #ICBD

‘The Book People’ posed the question “what was your favourite children’s book?”

Immediately I started thinking through all the books I loved as a child, and came to the conclusion that I simply loved ALL the books.

The first to come to mind was Eric Carle’s ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar’ – I remember my P1 teacher reading this to the class as we gathered in the reading corner. Now I include a copy of the board book in every baby shower gift.

Primary school was a great place to get new reading material – I loved ‘A Gift from Winklesea’ by Helen Cresswell and ‘The Kelpie’s Pearls’ by Mollie Hunter and of course there’s all those fabulous Roald Dahl stories – ‘The BFG’, ‘Fantastic Mr.Fox’, ‘George’s Marvelous Medicine.’

I remember a lovely old teacher, Mrs Reilly, she used to take classes in the ‘extra’ classroom and read to us. She read ‘George and the Giant Peach’ and loads of stories from the ‘My Naughty Little Sister’ series by Dorothy Edwards – I can’t recall if that series was good, but I can see the old tweed skirts and paisley print dresses Mrs Reilly favoured!

I’ll never forget the gorgeous Hans Christian Anderson book my Nanny gave me as a gift. Such wonderful tales and beautifully illustrated. I still have that book.

And of course there’s all the books I found for myself at my local library, starting with ‘Dorrie the Little Witch’ by Patricia Coombs and Enid Blyton’s ‘Famous Five’ and then there was a series about a little vampire that I devoured (sadly I cannot remember the title or author) before I moved on to Blyton’s ‘Mallory Towers’ series and of course, Narnia.

I wonder if my kids will remember their books so fondly.

I think in honor of International
Children’s Book Day I’ll take my kids to the book store after school.

Please leave a comment and tell me which children’s books you adore.

Leave a Reply

