Blog Hop: My Writing Process

My fabulous critique partner (CP) and online friend, Heather Murphy Capps invited me to take part in this blog hop with her! Heather used to be a TV reporter but she gave up all that glamor and is now a mother, blogger, teacher, and writer.

You can check out Heather’s blog hop post on her site right here.

Thank you so much, Heather, for inviting me to join this blog hop – it’s my first time doing this, and for those of you who are also new to the idea here’s the basic info: Each contributor answers four questions about their writing process and then invites 3 more contributors to do the same. In this way, the blog hop grows as each blogger adds three more and then we all follow the arrows and find so much great info and more cool writers to follow/befriend/learn from/stalk (actually not that last one!)

So, without further ado, here is #mywritingprocess

Q1) What am I working on?

I am currently working on a lightly supernatural fantasy MG where my MC finds herself lost and alone and the only person who will help her is a pale ghost girl, who may have only her own interests at heart. I’ve been working on this manuscript for the better part of a year and having gone through numerous cycles of editing and rewriting I think I am almost there – which is a very exciting and very stressful place to be. On the back burner I have a sci-fi YA novel because aliens are cool.

 

Q2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I enjoy a good ghost story but have yet to come across one with my exact twist. There are many (great) tales where a ghost is simply a soul who has not moved on to the afterlife as intended, and many stories where some other soul is sent to help with the transition, my story puts different players in those roles.

 

Q3) Why do I write what I do?

I love books. I love that feeling of sinking in to a story, where you become so involved in the tale that a part of you believes it be real. I grew up in a small town with a cute little library just 5 minutes walk from my house, and nothing made me happier than finding new treasures on those shelves. Books contained magic and I loved being a part of it. As a preteen I kept a binder full of my own story ideas, pages of characters I had invented, complete with their hobbies, hopes and dreams and family trees, but I never once put my pen to paper and wrote their stories. I was afraid that I wasn’t good enough to tell those stories to anyone else. As an adult I still have all those story ideas filling my head, and I eventually decided that the best thing to do with those stories was to write them down. Nothing ventured… 

So I write what I do because I love these kinds of stories and I’d love to hold in my hands a real book of my own work. Those dreams that I almost gave up on.

 

Q4) How does your writing process work?

My writing process is in itself a ‘work in progress’!

I started jotting down ideas in notebooks, often the same idea written differently in a different notebook, just whenever I found myself with a spare 10 minutes. Examples of my spare 10 mins include: waiting outside school, waiting outside dance class, waiting at the dentist, waiting on the sidelines at soccer practice – get the idea?

This ‘method’ was haphazard and resulted in stories that lacked a certain flow – by which I mean they were incredibly disjointed and rubbish.

Next idea involved carting a laptop everywhere I went, and powering it up for those stolen minutes. This was also not the best plan. Also the laptop was heavy and suffered from battery life issues.

Nowadays my writing process involves a spark of inspiration which has me reaching for my trusty notebook, the tiny one that rarely leaves my side. This is my book of ideas. I note them here and they wait to be considered.

When I have what I feel is the backbone of the story, I write it out long hand in a large notebook. Where it can grow as I think it over and add layers and details to my original idea. When I’ve got a really good idea of where I think I’m going, I start writing. I also have little note cards for each story idea. On these note cards I draw the plot graphs, these give me a quick reference to keep me on track.

I try to devote at least 2 hours every week day to my writing. It doesn’t always work out that I have that (three kids can throw a spanner into any kind of works) but for the most part, I make that time. Those stolen slithers of time (remember the waiting?) are now devoted to chewing over one point in the story at a time.

I feel like my current process works quite well, in that my current WIP is leaps and bounds better than my first ever MS.

 

And now I pass the baton to three more bloggers!

 

Next week please visit Sinclair MacLeod over at his blog for his thoughts on #mywritingprocess

Sinclair is an Indie author from bonnie Scotland and has successfully self published seven novels. His ‘Reluctant Detective Mysteries’ and the spinoff series ‘Russell and Menzies Mysteries’ can be found on Amazon.

You can also find Sinclair on Twitter: @sinclairmacleod

 

 

Leave a Reply

